Standby generator worth the hassle?

Residential EC here in PA. Thinking about getting into standby home power systems, Generac, Kohler, etc. But at the end of the day, I'd rather not do the maintenance or sell a of them. I get about 3-4 calls a year for these, and would just be easier if the customer purchases the gen and I do the install.

I know how to do it, and don't even mind taking some classes for extra education, but I've heard the whole "authorized" process gets hairy and can lock you in to servicing that machine forever. Enough of these, and a lot of my time will be dealing with mechanical or other non-electrical related issues.

Any advice? I don't like leaving money on the table, these installs can be a nice payday, but also I'm no mechanic and don't want to be a salesman/mechanic. Is the warrabty basically voided if I install it as a non-authorized tech?

ggunn

PE (Electrical), NABCEP certified
Occupation
Consulting Electrical Engineer - Photovoltaic Systems
Residential EC here in PA. Thinking about getting into standby home power systems, Generac, Kohler, etc. But at the end of the day, I'd rather not do the maintenance or sell a of them. I get about 3-4 calls a year for these, and would just be easier if the customer purchases the gen and I do the install.

I know how to do it, and don't even mind taking some classes for extra education, but I've heard the whole "authorized" process gets hairy and can lock you in to servicing that machine forever.
Look at it this way: If you sell enough of them they will keep you so busy fixing them that you'll never have to sell another one. :D

Birken Vogt

I operate in this field and it is a whole other trade. Just not one that has a convenient name like "plumber" or "mason".

Like HVAC, just because it has electric supply to it does not mean it is an electrician's job to install and service it.