strange fire

Status
Not open for further replies.

dave1976

i am a service electrician i had a fire on a water heater but it did not start by electric or any other cumbustable. the burn marks are aroung a water pipe and the wall that burnt does not have any electric. the heater had no ground just 2 conductors in emt but it changed to 3/4" metal flex alum. this is my theory is that the water heater shorted and could not find a good ground so it traveled the water pipe but something cause the pipe to get red hot to start the fire.

cpal

I've never been able to solder any water pipe that had water in it, are you sure the water pipe started the fire???

Charlie

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician
Charlie,
You make a very good point. It is very difficult to have a pipe that contains water reach the ignition temperature of common building materials.
Don

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
First of all, if the feeder was in EMT with metallic flex than the unit was likely grounded. Having said that, I don't see how the current flowing on the pipe filled with water could start a fire.

cpal

dave1976 said:
the burn marks are aroung a water pipe and the wall that burnt does not have any electric. .

An image would help is the marking near a plumbing fitting???

maybe the plumber did it!!

Charlie

dave1976

yes but if the emt had loose fittings and the alum flex was long the electricity will take the path of least resistance. i have seen a picture of a copper water line glowing red. with water in it. there was no plumber the pipes were in a sheet rock wall fire start inside of the wall arson was ruled out and the marhall and electric inspector was dumbfounded

cpal

dave1976 said: