String Theory

Status
Not open for further replies.

Coppersmith

Occupation
Electrical Contractor
What the difference in thinking between an electrical worker and an EC? Read on.

Back when I was a first year apprentice I worked at a large job where they were pulling wires in with string. There were piles of string all over the jobsite and these just got used once and thrown away. As an environmentalist, I was appalled at the wastefulness of this. As time went by I became less bothered by the wasted string and like everybody else just tossed the lightly used cords in the trash (usually after getting them tangled around my feet and tripping over them or dragging them across the jobsite.)

Today was the first time since I started my EC business almost five years ago that I had an uninterrupted pipe run so long that pull string was required. It was 300 feet to the first LB. My 120 foot fish tape couldn't cut it. I looked at the pile of used string on the ground and all I could think was: "That string is damn expensive! That's $5 in string!" But alas, there is no economical way to save it for the next pull and it's probably dangerous weakened anyway.

Fulthrotl

~Autocorrect is My Worst Enema.~
What the difference in thinking between an electrical worker and an EC? Read on.

Back when I was a first year apprentice I worked at a large job where they were pulling wires in with string. There were piles of string all over the jobsite and these just got used once and thrown away. As an environmentalist, I was appalled at the wastefulness of this. As time went by I became less bothered by the wasted string and like everybody else just tossed the lightly used cords in the trash (usually after getting them tangled around my feet and tripping over them or dragging them across the jobsite.)