Student needs help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Thearx

New User
Hi, i hope someone can help or point out calculations that i need to do. The task is to transfer from a 6kV substation feeder to another feeder (client/user feeder), need to find out how to calculate the right cable sizing and a new switchgear for clients/user feeder. The outgoing feeder - 6kV, 630 A, vaccum switch; substation: 3 phase, 50hz, 6,3 kV, 4000A, 31,5 kA/3s.

I need to calculate the cable sizing, cable lenght 2 km (1,24 miles). And i wanted advice on choosing a right switchgear. If someone could give me the right formulas to calculate, that would be great. Sorry if this might sound stupid, im just a student who needs a bit of advice/help. Thanks! The base values are taken from a diagramm/scheme.

RumRunner

Occupation
Retired EE
Hi, i hope someone can help or point out calculations that i need to do. The task is to transfer from a 6kV substation feeder to another feeder (client/user feeder), need to find out how to calculate the right cable sizing and a new switchgear for clients/user feeder. The outgoing feeder - 6kV, 630 A, vaccum switch; substation: 3 phase, 50hz, 6,3 kV, 4000A, 31,5 kA/3s.

I need to calculate the cable sizing, cable lenght 2 km (1,24 miles). And i wanted advice on choosing a right switchgear. If someone could give me the right formulas to calculate, that would be great. Sorry if this might sound stupid, im just a student who needs a bit of advice/help. Thanks! The base values are taken from a diagramm/scheme.

Hi Thearx

I don't know how your engineering curriculum is administered in Estonia.

Here in US, power distribution which includes power transmission, power generation that include high voltage in several hundred thousand volts are usually taken up on the senior years in Electrical Engineering.