Sub Panels

Status
Not open for further replies.

firelitr

I'm a second stage apprentice electrician needing an answer to a question that no one seems to have: Why must the the neutrals be landed independant of the ground on a sub panel? I know the code says this shall be done, but why?

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
firelitr said:
I'm a second stage apprentice electrician needing an answer to a question that no one seems to have: Why must the the neutrals be landed independant of the ground on a sub panel? I know the code says this shall be done, but why?

the basic answer is to reduce the flow of current on the egc. if you tie the neutral and egc together at more than one point, you will have some current flow on the egc.

electricman2

Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
As Petersonra said, to avoid a parallel path for neutral current. the grounded conductor and grounding conductors are bonded at the service. Bonding them together at a sub panel would result in part of the neutral current flowing on the EGC. This would be an unsafe condition if a break were to occur on either the grounded conductor or the EGC. 250.24(5) prohibits such a connection for this reason.

al hildenbrand

Occupation
Electrical Contractor, Electrical Consultant, Electrical Engineer
Welcome th the Forum, Firelitr!

The image I like to use is about how we work hard to keep all the current (I'm not thinking of voltage - just current) in the hot wire, inside the hot wire until it reaches the load (light, motor, heater, etc.).

The return current needs to be given the same careful attention so it is kept inside a single insulated path. . .