Swimming Pool Bonding

Status
Not open for further replies.

inspector 102

I have an installation where the bonding wire that connects to all the metal fixtures has been run back to the pump motor. The circuit to the pump motor is protected by a GFCI breaker that trips as soon as the bonding wire is connected to the bonding terminal on the pump. As an inspector, I have always seen the bonding jumper connected at this point without any problems. What might I need to look for as a potential problem. The homeowner says they will simply leave the bond off and I have told them they can't do that. Any thoughts on potential problems would be greatly appreciated so I can advise the owner a starting point.

jwelectric

Re: Swimming Pool Bonding

Some where some how the bonding grid is carrying current that is causing an imbalance that the GFCI is seeing would be the only cause that I can think of. Check all the joints and terminals.
:)

hurk27

Some where some how the bonding grid is carrying current that is causing an imbalance that the GFCI is seeing would be the only cause that I can think of.
If the bonding grid had current on it this current would not trip the GFCI for the pump. It does sound like the motor windings might have leakage but then it should trip with the EGC of the circuit feeding the pump?

There may be sevral reasons that this is happing but the one that seems to click in my head is if the grounding conductor has been improperly connected to the load neutral on the GFCI breaker. This would cause the EGC to act like a neutral and provide full circuit current between it and the hot, but when it is connected to the grid it causes a leakage to earth which will trip the GFCI.
The only other thing I can think that would produce this would be the EGC for the pump has been isolated and the pump has a bad winding and has leakage current to case so when the grid is connected to the case bonding terminal it trips the breaker.

jwelectric