Swimming pool issues

Status
Not open for further replies.

kevinware

Hey everyone,
I am concerned about a pool installation I came a crossed the other day and I would like a little help. A friend of mine is looking at a house to buy and asked me to come over and look at the electrical part of the house and give him and opinion on it, good or bad. I told him I appreciated the trust he had in me but that he might want to get a home inspection done and go from there, I am just an apprentice and I may miss something important. Well my friend is my friend but he is CHEAP!!!!! and he wasn't going to pay for an inspection. I was concerned for his and his families safety so I went over and looked around. Well I don't know who wired this house but I would like to meet them so I could hit them right in the mouth. (Sorry for the violence Sir Moderator) This was a smaller house, it had a 100 amp service drop but the panel was replaced with a panel that IMO was physically way to small. It was a 100 amp panel, but it looked like something someone bought at a yard sale. There were not enough spaces to accommodate all the circuits I thought the house needed, let alone circuits required by the NEC (Article 210). When a service panel is replaced should the house be brought-up to code? or is that just when the service is being upgraded? (Ex. 60 amp to 100 amp) As far as the reason for this thread. The swimming pool should fall under the definition of "Storable Swimming or Wading Pool" in 680.2 and this is how it is presently installed: The branch circuit supplying the filter motor is being tapped off the load side of the A/C unit disconnect so the pool and the A/C unit are sharing the same 30 Amp breaker, the circuit wire is type UF 12/2.w.g ran underground direct burial for about 10 yards and stubbed-up a short wood pole to a GFCI duplex receptacle with a broken cover about 5 feet or less from the wall of the pool. I voiced my opinion as follows: