symbols on electrical drawings

Status
Not open for further replies.

wlancaster

Occupation
Building Inspector
I recently took a test that asked how many conductors are in a conduit with no hash marks with a sample drawing illustration...best I can figure a straight line denotes control wiring or maybe an empty conduit? I can't remember all the answers available but I believe all the choices were numbers and there could have been a 0 as one of the options. Any ideas on what just a straight line indicates? I know the question is a little vague and symbols may vary somewhat depending on the engineer doing the drawings. I'm an inspector with not a lot of practical or hands-on experience in the electrical trade and appreciate the help. The symbols for the other conduits (ones with conductors) looked something like what I found on line, see below:
Line with three conductors symbol
Line with three wire

wlancaster

Occupation
Building Inspector
I recently took a test that asked how many conductors are in a conduit with no hash marks with a sample drawing illustration...best I can figure a straight line denotes control wiring or maybe an empty conduit? I can't remember all the answers available but I believe all the choices were numbers and there could have been a 0 as one of the options. Any ideas on what just a straight line indicates? I know the question is a little vague and symbols may vary somewhat depending on the engineer doing the drawings. I'm an inspector with not a lot of practical or hands-on experience in the electrical trade and appreciate the help. The symbols for the other conduits (ones with conductors) looked something like what I found on line, see below:
Line with three wire
thanks for the response, good point, I could have missed the legend because you navigate the drawing with a magnifying glass which is not ideal

Besoeker3

Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
FWIW

What is the British standard for electrical symbols?