Table 220.55 – Demand Factors for Household Electric Ranges; Using Column C after using Column B & C...???

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm studying for the Journeyman test I will be taking tomorrow and need some help on a Mike Holt question. The question is "What's the calculated feeder demand load for one 12kW range and 6kW cooktop?" [Electrical Exam Preparation, Unit 9 Challenge Question #15].

The options are:
(a) 11kW
(b) 11.2kW
(c) 12.80kW
(d) 18kW

The answer key says it's 11kW, I would say 12.80kW

Per the table, in column C, I would size the larger, 12kW range right at 8kW. The 6kW falls under cooktop falls under column B, which would be sized 80% of 6kW = 4.8kW. 8kW + 4.8kW = 12.8kW.

The closest I could find to how to combine these numbers is end of note 3 to Table 220.55, where it says "Where the rating of cooking appliances falls under both Column A and Column B, the demand factors for each column shall be applied to the appliances for that column, and the results added together." I know it says Column A and Column B, but what about when you have a solution from Column B & C?. The answer key says 11kW, which pulls the second 4.8kW "demand-factored" cooktop into Column C, and treats it as an "over 8-3/4kW to 12kW" cooking unit and then sizes both the range and cooktop as two (2) column C units, making it 11kW.

To summarize my question: Where in the 2017 NEC is it justified to demand factor a Column B rated cooking unit as a Column C unit?

Thanks!

david luchini

Staff member
Occupation
Engineer
Number of Appliances = 2.

Table 220.55, Column C says 11kW for two appliances.

I would say 11kW is the correct answer. Read the heading of T220.55..."Column C to be used in all cases except as otherwise permitted in Note 3."

(Column C isn't "over 8-3/4kW to 12kW. Column C is over 1-3/4kW to not over 12kW. And then see the Notes for over 12kW.)

Last edited:
Number of Appliances = 2.

Table 220.55, Column C says 11kW for two appliances.