tell me why and what could happen

Status
Not open for further replies.

csworkman

I have been an electrician for a while and some one asked me what could happen if the GEC came undone andI didn't have a good answer for them. Let's hear it

cowboyjwc

Staff member
I actually said this to someone else in another thread.

I will catch a lot of guff for this answer even though it's not really mine.

If you are talking about a residential application, nothing. You would still technically be grounded to the house next door through the grounded conductor and even through the utility ground.

The same I guess could be said about a commercial application as you would be grounded at the utility transformer.

JohnConnolly

csworkman said:
I have been an electrician for a while and some one asked me what could happen if the GEC came undone andI didn't have a good answer for them. Let's hear it

If the rest of the system is intact, nothing....unless lightning struck.

macmikeman

csworkman said:

I say if the gec is uninsulated and is in your hand at the time it comes undone, you could possibly become part of the return circuit for the unbalanced load and get shocked. Most gec's have some current running thru them most of the time, as they are a parallel path back to the utility source.
But as the other posters have said, most of the time, nothing will be affected by the gec coming loose or removed unless lightning maybe strikes the building. (maybe)

mattsilkwood

ok if lightning does strike will the damage be any worse than if it was intact?ive seen old houses with no gec with hardly any damage and new houses with nearly all the wiring fried and vice versa. i think it has to do with the idividual strike.

and im not saying that a gec is a bad thing

tom baker

First Chief Moderator
Staff member
macmikeman said:
Most gec's have some current running thru them most of the time, as they are a parallel path back to the utility source.