Temporary Equipment Testing

Status
Not open for further replies.

wireddd

A friend of mine who works in a plant where they build motor and equipment control panels, asked me what section of the code and osha rules need to be followed when temporarily testing these control panels. Power is 480 volt three phase and is done with rubber cords off of disconnects to the control cabinet. Seems that one assembly line testor got a shock and now they want to review their procedures.
Any help would be appreciated.

bphgravity

Re: Temporary Equipment Testing

There isn't really anytihng in the NEC that will assist with this problem.

Try reviewing the NFPA 70E, NFPA 79, OSHA 29 CFR 1910 and 1926 and maybe ANSI C2.

plt

I worked in a shop in Michigan that used chords the same way. I think a good suggestion would be to install an outlet and put a plug end on the chord then run the chord through the side of the panel through a small knock out with a chord grip. Later you can plug it if the hole can't be used for installing power at the customers plant or just open the door on the control panel on the machine and connect the chord then when the test is over you can unplug the chord and remove the wire, shut the control panel and send it off.

For all temp services with control panels.First thing is to make sure your temp power is grounded.That is probably why he or she was shocked.
Take Care Rick

petersonra

Occupation
engineer

Originally posted by harborrick:
For all temp services with control panels.First thing is to make sure your temp power is grounded.That is probably why he or she was shocked.
Take Care Rick
what do you mean by "grounded"? Do you mean bonding the metal panel via an EGC? Do you mean making sure you create a neutral at the panel?

charlie