Texas and the state liscense

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have been an electrician for 17 years. I would just like to vent a little. Texas went to a state liscense and any one with 6 years experience such as helpers were grand fathered in for a state journeymen liscense. Well some of these guys have never opened a code book and do not even make good helpers. It is a slap in the face to any one who has ever taken the test. Just venting . I asked a guy who got grand fathered in had he ever opened or owned a code book and he said no.I'm sure if it happened in your state you would be upset to.

redfish

Re: Texas and the state liscense

I feel your pain. The only consolation is that they will have to take their test to become a master. As journeymen, they are now literally a dime a dozen. Being a journeyman doesn't mean what it used to since most two-wire electricians have been grand fathered in. I think that the experience that some journeymen have will be the deciding factor on the pay scale, not the mere fact that they have a journeyman's license. :)

Originally posted by redfish:
I feel your pain. The only consolation is that they will have to take their test to become a master. As journeymen, they are now literally a dime a dozen. Being a journeyman doesn't mean what it used to since most two-wire electricians have been grand fathered in. I think that the experience that some journeymen have will be the deciding factor on the pay scale, not the mere fact that they have a journeyman's license. :)
I know a guy that got grand fathered in for a masters since he lived in a rolyal county. That guy never passed any kind of test and has since started his own company :(

tx2step