Texas contractors license

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a Texas Master license, and ran into what seemed like a great opportunity, but to my defeat was a nightmare. I went into a verbal partnership agreement, with to acqaintences who I had worked with for several years. Now that everything is not working and giving up on the partnership, I need to remove my name off of the contractors license. Is this a legal thing I need to do, and how would I go about doing this? I never set up a partnership agreement on paper,or signed anything.

Buck Parrish

Are you listed as the licensee on their bussiness name? If so you will need to contact the State Electrical Contracors Board to have it removed from your freind's bussiness name.
Lucky you didn't sign any thing.
You might not even have a legal bussiness. Who's name is the bank account in. Or the tax ID number.
You might want to hire a contract attorney.
If you can get out of this one easily. I would be wiping my brow, while saying whewwww; that was a close one.:wink: Good luck

Contractors license

Contractors license

Actually I did sign the contractor application and paid for it like a moron.
The bank account does not include me, I was only needed for the masters license, and labor on jobs as an employee.

Buck Parrish

In NC you can start a electric bussiness with out being licensed. But , you have to have a licensed person listed on your license as an employee that over sees all electrical installations.
If that is what you are, I'm not sure how to get out of it.
I would think their would be plenty of work in East Texas.

growler

jlindenborn said:
I need to remove my name off of the contractors license. Is this a legal thing I need to do, and how would I go about doing this? I never set up a partnership agreement on paper,or signed anything.

There can be all kinds of loose ends from such a business arangement. If you are on the contractors license then you must have signed something at some time.