thinking of a EE degree

Status
Not open for further replies.

Duner

First post, want to say this is a great site and there is a huge amount of info here.

I'm Currently an electrician and have been for a few years now. I have done some residential, (enough to know I don't like it) and commercial construction. However l just got a job as a maintenance electrician at a large industrial plant. Love the job, they go way overboard with safety but they pay me to work safe, not fast like my old contractors. Anyway they have a tuition assistance program for keeping up to date with code classes and other thing. So I asked about getting a degree in EE. After asking the maintenance manager about it I got a long pause... and then was told to write him a business case.

So if things work out I might get a free education. I would have to take online classes as I would need to work full time. Was wondering if anyone would have suggestions about what to write in my business case. I would think my best angle to work is the practical knowledge and field experience that couldn't be taught in a school.

I was thinking of taking my classes online at SPU, although if had a good experience with another online school would like to hear about it. SPU is a abet school. Anyone go there?
http://www.spu.edu/depts/ee/academics/electrical.asp

Any input would be very helpful

BJ Conner

I have known people that did it. Depends on your work ethic.
Look at nearby community colleges. A lot of the basics can be completed there cheaper and probably closer.
My stock answer to this queston has always been: "If you start now in 4 (or 5) years it will be 2014 and you'll have a degree. IF you don't in 4 years it will be 2014."

ericsherman37

I have known people that did it. Depends on your work ethic.
Look at nearby community colleges. A lot of the basics can be completed there cheaper and probably closer.