This may sound silly, but...

Status
Not open for further replies.
...not to drag any on-topic business into this section, but I just realized I have a (probably) dumb question. I make chandeliers, and while I technically know how to install one, I'm by no means an electrician, though I do deal with electricity. Having said that, very little of the NEC really pertains directly to what I do, and while it's been essential to my work at times, I just started to wonder if I'm going to run into any problems if the latest (and only) cycle I've got is 2005. If what I need to refer to in the Code is basically restricted to lighting, is there enough of a difference for me to spend the money on the most recent cycle or can I sleep easy knowing I'm pretty much safe with what I've got. The only time I'm consulting it is if my boss has designed something particularly extravagant and therefore seemingly difficult to hang and wire and I need to make sure everything's going to end up installable and UL/ETL/NEC compliant, should we be upgrading every time if we're utterly unconcerned with things like wiring a house or running anything underground or dealing with anything more complex than "deliver 120 volts to these bulbs". Hopefully this doesn't make me out to be an idiot, but I've never dealt much with anything fluorescent, I know what multiphase means but I've never actually dealt with it directly, we're not dealing with hazardous or outdoor anything, like I said, we're just lighting up incandescent bulbs. The NEC is an extremely useful resource, but by no means does my job require thorough and accredited familiarization with the Code in its entirety (though I wouldn't mind getting there one day...part of why I registered is to informally familiarize myself with it as much as possible, as I've already begun to).