Trace Engineering Inverter

Status
Not open for further replies.

cavejumper

Hello everyone,

I have a customer with a small diesel generator (about 5KW, 120/240V 1PH) connected to two inverters (one on each phase). The inverters also have AC inputs from the utility and DC connections to a battery bank, with AC outputs to a manual transfer switch to the customer's residence. I have some experience with residential standby generators, but have never seen a system like this before. The inverters are manufactured by Trace Engineering and are the SW series. The generator seems to work fine, its the inverters that I'm having a problem with.

When the HO called me the inverters had not worked for over a year. I determined the batteries had lost their charge (was measuring about 2.4VDC across each 12VDC battery). I disconnected all the batteries (16 total, 8 for each inverter connected in series/parallel for a system voltage of 48VDC), and refilled the electrolyte fluid with distilled water since most were low. I then put each one on a trickle charge until complete, measured voltages (ranged from 11.3 to 12.7VDC), and reconnected them. The inverters turn on now, but I'm not sure everything is working right.

The HO has no working knowledge of the system (her husband is the one that tinkered with it and has passed away), and the manufacturer has not responded to my calls. I'm mainly concerned that the batteries will recharge correctly now, but I'm not sure what I should be looking for to tell me that. I would also like a better understanding of the system in general, although I am learning a lot by reading the owner's manual. Does anyone have experience with these? Any input would be appreciated!

ATSman

ATSman
Occupation
Electrical Engineer/ Electrical Testing & Controls
I suggest this post be moved to the PV Forum. The people with grid tie inverter expertise will respond accordingly and give you direction.