transformer identification

Status
Not open for further replies.

eminem

I am a student at a local trade school and I need some help!!! My dilema begins with an instructor who gets a kick out of making us rack our brains to find answers to his trick questions at the end of each week. This week he would like to know why the "x" symbol was used along with the "h" on the id tag of a transformer. I have figured that the h represents the "high" side, where power is supplied, but, I cannot find anything about the reason for the x!!??? Can anyone help please?? Any info would be greatly appreciated, thanks!!

[ June 22, 2003, 09:05 PM: Message edited by: eminem ]

bphgravity

Re: transformer identification

Hello Eminem!

Please see my returned private message sent by you for additional info.

Are you sure it is for a motor and not a transformer? I am not familar with the use of H or X for standard motor connections. If indeed a motor, it could represent the connections for a multi-speed or multi-voltage motor.

The H would most likely be the higher voltage or speed and the X would most likely be the lower voltage or speed.

On transformers, the H represents the higher voltage or primary side of the transformer, whereas the X is the lower voltage or secondary side of the transformer. The numbers after the letter represent the option of connection for desired output voltage on multi-tapped transformers. :)

Here is a good link to standard motor connections:

http://www.firstelectricmotor.com/motor_connections.htm

[ June 22, 2003, 08:17 PM: Message edited by: bphgravity ]

Ed MacLaren

The instructor may be testing you.

The letters "H" and "X" are not used to identify motor terminals/leads. For the correct letter identification for motor leads, consult any good textbook that covers motors.

Ed

eminem