Transformer upgrade required

scrubbin

Occupation
Maintenance Tech
Hello I'm new to solar and I installed a 14Kw ground mount system at my home and I contacted the local utility to connect to the grid. I was informed that due to the additional load generated by my system that I would need to pay for an upgraded transformer. Is this a normal cost for a solar install? Any idea on the cost for a new transformer?
Thanks

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
Hello I'm new to solar and I installed a 14Kw ground mount system at my home and I contacted the local utility to connect to the grid. I was informed that due to the additional load generated by my system that I would need to pay for an upgraded transformer. Is this a normal cost for a solar install? Any idea on the cost for a new transformer?
Thanks
You will have to ask the utility what they charge. Generally there are tariffs for such things approved by whomever regulates the utility in your state.

It is normal for the end user to pay the cost of upgrades required when there is a change to the service.

I am kind of surprised you were allowed to install a system without the approval of the utility in the first place.

I have heard some pretty scary numbers for such upgrades. But some places it is not so bad. I have even heard of places that there is no charge at all for such upgrades as they are passed on to the other users.

That is strange an upgrade is required for a 14KW system.

Hard to say what the cost is, these things can vary widely. In NY per the tariff it's only $300.

I also wonder Was this system previously approved by the utility? It does happen sometimes that utilities approve but then require more things. It is certainly annoying and a poor way to do things.

pv_n00b

Occupation
Professional Electrical Engineer