Trenching - multiple utilities

Status
Not open for further replies.

4x4dually

Occupation
Electrical Engineer/ Ex-Electrician
I still don't see what the issue with the "same trench" is. We had a job where due to utility requirements we needed three foot of separation from gas and other utilities. They dug a 6 ft wide trench and we put one on each side and one in the middle. All in the same trench.
I would venture to guess that when folks say "trench" they typically envision something that is 6-12" wide as a trencher would give. I doubt many think of something 6 ft wide. I'd have no issue with everything being in one wide trench. I was mostly envisioning all three utilities stacked on top of each other with the only one that might need maintenance on the bottom.

jaggedben

Occupation
Solar and Energy Storage Installer
Adequate ??? Not hardly. Contrary to popular belief I'm an electrician, not a plumber or excavator. I don't have a copy of the 2021 NSPC 10.6 and 13.1.3 and the 2021 IFGC/IRC 404.12/G2415.12 handy. Why can't he just answer the SIMPLE questions I posed ?
2021 NSPC online right here dude. It's free.

2018 IFGC https://up.codes/viewer/new_jersey/ifgc-2018
Okay he said 2021 but hopefully the relevant section hasn't changed.

Why am I doing this for you? It took 2 minutes with google.

I'm just trying to do the RIGHT job the FIRST time. As I've said before, many construction officials don't seem to want to tell you if you ARE doing the right job, but they CERTAINLY will tell you if you've done it WRONG and will cite the Code section(s).
Why do you think it's the inspector's job to tell you the code instead of your job as a contractor to be able to look it up? Between the code I know by heart and the stuff I know how look up I know way more of the code that's relevant to my work than almost every inspector. On the rare occasions that a mistake or a borderline interpretation happens in my work, the inspector usually doesn't notice.

jaggedben

Occupation