Twist grounds

Status
Not open for further replies.

dwellselectric

Inactive, Email Never Verified
Okay question for you guys. When I went to school and worked for the company before the one that I am with now we always twisted conductors together like twist the blacks, whites, grounds. But I have been fighing with my boss for five years now he says I am wrong and I would like to see how you guys to it. My boss what he does is cut the wires even and hold them together and put them under the wirenut :mad: . I told him that I didn't like doing that because you are relying on the wirenut to hold the wires and you always have the chance of a wire coming free or what not. And I was just wondering how you guys did it. Is his way better than the way that I do it? Any input would be great thanks!

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
I believe that most wirenuts are rated for connecting without twisting. That being said I twist my wires first then add the wirenut.
Wing-Nut? Wire Connector

wing-nut.jpg

Features

• Three color-coded models available to meet your needs
  • Accept #18 through #6 AWG wires
  • Contoured wing design for secure grip
  • Live-action, square-wire spring
  • No pre-twisting required
  • UL Listed and CSA Certified
  • Reusable
  • Shell rated for 105? C

iwire

Staff member
As far as I know all wire nuts require some twisting of the conductors.

However that twisting is not required to be done before installing the wire nut.

You place the wire nut on the untwisted conductors and keep twisting the wire nut until some twists show outside the wirenut.....you will need to do this with pliers.

Take a moment and read the instructions on the package of wire nuts and all your questions will be answered. :)

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician