Uh oh....

Status
Not open for further replies.

torcho

I don't want to start an argument on this subject (it's been gone over many times) but I wanted to show you guys this. I ordered this hospital grade surge protection receptacle for my cousin's new wall mount LCD tv. I was shocked when I opened the box (I have never used one of these before by the way) take a look at how the device needs to be installed to read the labeling correctly....Funny the straps are just the opposite. Just thought I'd show you all. This thing is pretty cool though, and it carries a 1449 UL listing.

ImageShack

torcho

Re: Uh oh....

I'm not saying it is the right way...I always install duplexes with ground down, I just figured I'd show this off to see if I could start a fight...Just kidding. :D :D

Oh, I forgot it's called a yoke...Thanks for the correction Jw. :p

B

bthielen

So....which is the right direction, ground up or ground down? :D

I will leave now.

Bob

[ September 15, 2005, 01:33 PM: Message edited by: bthielen ]

bob

torcho
What is the price for this protection?
What are the electrical parameters?

redfish

Uh oh, check this out. Is this thing upside down? :)
sec_C.jpg

jwelectric

Originally posted by bob:
torcho
What is the price for this protection?
What are the electrical parameters?
He may be awhile; he is out in the street looking for me.

Shhhhh don?t let him know that I am in here.
:D :D :D

mhulbert

I hope you didn't pay for a hospital grade device as you said in your post...this one is not! All HG devices have the green dot on them.

Also, the Leviton HG TVSS devices have an audible alarm that goes off if the TVSS fails. There is a silence screw on the front cover, plus a little grille for the beeper.

I think the non HG units are about $30, probably about $45 for an HG unit. I took one apart, there are 3 large MOV's inside. The case is the same as a GFI, w/ feed through lugs as well.