UL508A disconnect MCCB

Hpram

Occupation
Engineer
Hello,

I am new to America as an automation/electrical engineer and was hoping I could get some assistance in deciphering UL508A.

I have read through the NEC article 409, NFPA 79 and UL508A as I will be focusing on industrial control panels.
I have decided to build to UL508A.
I have got my head around most of it but have a general question around the main disconnect on the feeder side.
This is where the mains coming into the panel will be first terminated.

Does this need to be an MCCB or can it be a standard disconnect switch?

This will be feeding 4 x branch MCBs. Three will be feeding VFDs and the other a 24VDC control power supply.

Normally where I come from (New Zealand) we would just use a disconnect switch rated to the line current of all 4 devices and specify the incoming mains protection be adequate for the installation.

I have had a look over a few installations here in America and found the following:
1. The disconnect switch is a MCCB rated to the panel FLA feeding all branch circuits ( this would be my preferred way)
2. The same as 1 except the biggest load( largest VFD in the panel) does not have protection and relies on the main MCCB. ( This does not seem correct and I'm sure is from bad design and/or engineer).

Note these are just a handful from one company and do not reflect the American industry.

I'm not looking for a single answer but more what is practically found in the industry from experience.

Any answers appreciated.

jim dungar

Staff member
Occupation
PE (Retired) - Power Systems
This is a design decision.
I have seen panels with a disconnect only and panels with a breaker. The NEC required overcurrent protection will be at the source of the feeder to this panel.

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
Thank you Jim

Regarding industry, what would most industrial plants prefer? Would there be a common preference?