Using a 14-3 wire in a pan fan box!

Status
Not open for further replies.

aelectricalman

Residential -- Is it still legal to use a 14/3wg or a 12-3w/g wire in a pan fan box? This box supplies 8cuin. Why would the inspector frown on it. He does not like it. Can someone please help me, I'm not good with my sizing.

aelectricalman

Re: Using a 14-3 wire in a pan fan box!

It just seems that there should be no problem with these boxes being rated to hold a light and a ceiling fan controlled by separate switches. Hence, its called a "Pan Fan". Surely they dont expect you not to place a light kit on the "fan"

aelectricalman

Thank you for your insight and direction, although I would still like to see more replies on the subject.

aelectricalman

YES, if there is proper space for your connections inside the canopy. Otherwise, no. That helps alittle more.

aelectricalman

Since it is not listed on the previous page in the chart on 314.16, do I just follow the provision you pointed out. Using the chart I assume that since a 12.5 cu in box will hold 6 #14 conductors, that my 6 cu in box will hold 3 #14 conductors. If that is the case, im at 4 conductors which does me in.

apauling

remember to add the ground wires as one wire count. (no ribbing Ryan).

there are nice saddle boxes rated for fans when directly under ceiling joist. the large fan rated pan boxes are good for 14-2.

paul

iwire

Staff member

Originally posted by aelectricalman:
Since it is not listed on the previous page in the chart on 314.16, do I just follow the provision you pointed out.
Ace you have to look at Table 314.16(B) which tells us that each 14 AWG conductor need 2.0 cubic inches.

It just seems that there should be no problem with these boxes being rated to hold a light and a ceiling fan controlled by separate switches. Hence, its called a "Pan Fan". Surely they dont expect you not to place a light kit on the "fan"