Using White wire for Traveler

Status
Not open for further replies.
According to NEC article 200.7 (C)(2) it mentions that where there is a cable assembly that contains an insulated conductor for single-pole, 3-way, or 4-way switch loops, the white wire can be used for the supply to the switch but not as the return conductor from the switch to the switched outlet. What is not mentioned is whether or not it is permissable to use the white wire as a traveler? As an example, when the feed is in the fixture box and a 3-wire is run from the fixture box to each 3-way switch, which is a common installation technique in older homes in this location. I'm an electrical student, and this is a point of discussion in the class. Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

ryan_618

Re: Using White wire for Traveler

The fact that a four way switch is even mentioned in 200.7(C)(2) leads me to beleive that it can be used as a traveller. After all, the only wires connected to a four way switch are travellers.

My local inspector told me tape on white wire when hot is no longer okay - must use permanent marker and color it !!! Thats a whole lot of fun. :roll:

of course, can use wire with extra conductor and just cap white off.

[ March 11, 2004, 05:46 PM: Message edited by: mjf ]

stew

and his code reference for the permanent marker was what? Or is the reference just in his own mind? The code I believe states it must be identified but it does not say whos brand of magic marker you have to use!!!

websparky

There seems to be room for different methods of "permanent" re-identification.
In these applications, the conductor with white or gray insulation or with three continuous white stripes shall be permanently reidentified to indicate its use by painting or other effective means at its terminations and at each location where the conductor is visible and accessible.