VFD control side interview question

Learn the NEC with Mike Holt now!
Status
Not open for further replies.

Sherwood

Occupation
Electrician
Hello, I had a question pop up today in an interview about the low volt side of a VFD. Now, forgive me if my verbiage is not clear here as I am trying to remember the question as it was given as I was very nervous. First off, I have installed about a dozen VFD's in my career but limited to install and connecting power. Nothing to do with the control side. The question asked was something to the effect of, "what of the following three control methods is the prefferred method to control a VFD and why?" The only 1 of the 3 methods I remember is 0-10 volts. Can someone please help me here? This was an interview for a electrical maintenence position and being a construction electrician, I am very limited on troubleshooting and control methods such things as VFD's. Thank you very much.

Jraef

Moderator, OTD
Staff member
Occupation
Electrical Engineer
Hard to respond without knowing the entire question and context, but I'll try.