VFD right to motor no Disco?

Learn the NEC with Mike Holt now!

zappy

My boss said just run the conduit right to the motor. No disconnect. He had a reason, I'm not a VFD expert is that code though? Thank you for your help.

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
My boss said just run the conduit right to the motor. No disconnect. He had a reason, I'm not a VFD expert is that code though? Thank you for your help.
There's no code requirement to locate a disconnecting means downstream of a VFD.

There is a code requirement that every motor have a disconnecting means. That disconnecting means can be upstream of a VFD as long as it meets all of the requirements of a disconnecting means.

My suggestion is you look in the code and see if what you are doing is acceptable. He might well be right but you have not given us enough information to make that determination.

EC Dan

Occupation
E&C Manager
Typically you don't want a disconnect between the VFD and the motor since disconnecting the circuit while the motor is running could damage the VFD. If a disconnect is used between VFD and motor, it should have early break auxiliary contacts to signal to the VFD to shut off output power right before the circuit is isolated.

Reactions: RCA

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician
If you must have a disconnect on at the location of a motor supplied by a VFD, you can get one with a set of early break control contacts. You use those contacts to tell the drive to go into "coast to stop" mode so that when the power conductors are opened, there is no output from the VFD.

Jraef

Moderator, OTD
Staff member
Occupation
Electrical Engineer
MOST disconnect switch aux. contacts are “early break”, meaning the aux. contact opens BEFORE the main contacts open.

I have never seen one that wasn’t, but if I make a claim that they all are, someone will show me one that isn’t…

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
Challenge accepted :)