Voltage drop Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

sparks27

I am studying mike holt electricians math, I came across this question and cant find how the resistance for two #14 conductors comes out to 12.90 ohms

The question is stated: whats the maximum distance that two #14 can be run if they carry 16A and the allowable voltage drop is 10V?
I checked chapter 9 Tbl. 8 but cant find how he arrived at this number Help...

Dist= (4110 x 10V) / (2 x 12.90 ohms x 16A)

A=50ft
B=75ft
C=100ft
D=150ft

Thanks, Sparks

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician
The 12.9 is ohms per circular mil area per foot. It is commonly shown as "K" in voltage drop formulas and often called the "K factor". The 12.9 is based on a conductor temperature of 75°C and would be less for lower temperatures.

The 12.9 is the commonly used value and is a worst case as the operating temperature of most conductors is limited to 75°C by the temperature requirements of the terminations.

I believe the equivalent value for aluminum conductors is 21.2.

K = specific resistivity (Ω - circular mils/foot)

sparks27

Voltage drop

Voltage drop

The 12.9 is ohms per circular mil area per foot. It is commonly shown as "K" in voltage drop formulas and often called the "K factor". The 12.9 is based on a conductor temperature of 75°C and would be less for lower temperatures.

The 12.9 is the commonly used value and is a worst case as the operating temperature of most conductors is limited to 75°C by the temperature requirements of the terminations.

I believe the equivalent value for aluminum conductors is 21.2.

K = specific resistivity (Ω - circular mils/foot)

Don,

Are those values found in chapter 9 table 8 ?
I found that #14 has 3.19 ohms per 1000 ft. at 75c coated copper

Thanks, sparks

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician
Don,

Are those values found in chapter 9 table 8 ?
I found that #14 has 3.19 ohms per 1000 ft. at 75c coated copper

Thanks, sparks