Weird customer request

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lady Engineer

Hi guys,

It's been a long time, but I still come on here a lot to get information but I don't post as much. Since I've last posted, I was hired at a firm that consults for Madison Electric Utility. You guessed it, I'm a utility power engineer, but also I run the department at this firm which does LV also. Big responsibility, but I was able to learn a lot about MV switchgear and distribution in about 4 months. It WAS NOT easy. However, I told them I didn't know how, but they said you'll figure it out! LOL I did, and now I manager Madison Electric's Substation. They buy 34.4KV from JCPL in NJ, and they built their own substations 40 years ago, which transforms the voltage down to 12.47KV.

Now here's my question: I got this request in from client who wanted a primary MV service. They wanted to purchase their own transformers, so they requested Primary 12.47KV service, which connects to their unit substation.

I looked at their switchgear, and made sure the CT and PT ratios, KV, etc. They wondered how come you will not run a Neutral with your 3 phase + G. Yes, our switchgear at the substation is 3ph, 4W, but like a LV system, I see no need to run a neutral with the MV feeder. Now, their substation has a delta to wye connection. Am I missing something, why do they want to bring in a neutral? There's nowhere connect it with a delta to wye transformer? I take that back, you can, but what about the 3rd harmonic? Plus, would they want a wye to wye connection to begin with, especially from a utility?

Last edited:

kingpb

Occupation
Engineer, Registered
Ask them for a one-line. It will help you understand what they have, or are planning, and therefore make it easier to answer their request for information.

Lady Engineer

Hi Kingpb,