What is the difference between KVA and KW?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am studying transformers I want to know what is the difference between a kva and kw. Does this affect me when iam calculating residential loads?

dereckbc

Staff member
Re: What is the difference between KVA and KW?

Originally posted by hde_electric:
I am studying transformers I want to know what is the difference between a kva and kw. Does this affect me when iam calculating residential loads?
Power Factor. PF=KW/KVA

[ September 12, 2003, 02:46 PM: Message edited by: dereckbc ]

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer

The difference comes from the fact that rotating machines (generators and motors, but let?s just talk about motors) have to first store energy in a magnetic field (i.e., in their coils), before then can do their thing (i.e., spin the motor). The power taken up in this energy storage process is measured as Volt-Amps Reactive (VAR), or Kilo Volt-Amps Reactive (KVAR). The ?useful power? (i.e., used to turn the motor) is measured as Watts or Kilowatts (KW). These two can be drawn as the two sides of a right triangle. The hypotenuse (third side ? the longest side) is the result of KW added to KVAR, but added using the Pythagorean Formula: (KVA)**2 = (KW)**2 + (KVAR)**2. If you take measurements with an ammeter and a voltmeter, and multiply the two, what you get is KVA.

For most residential loads, the power factor is very close to 1. That means that if there are any motors, they are so small that KW and KVA are almost the same number. In this case, you don?t have to pay attention to which is which. The only household component that has a large motor is generally the air conditioner. In my neck of the woods, most households don?t have one.

wocolt

Just a thought..