What Makes For a Good General Contractor?

Status
Not open for further replies.

c2500

Well personally, I am offended at the implication of the post. :grin:

I am a licensed residential home builder. In South Carolina, you are either a builder, or a general contractor (They get commercial, I get $5000 of commercial).

In addition, I am a licensed residential electrician and plumber. So I do my own electrical work (as I avoid plumbing like the plague...but hey, I can pull permits). I also, when I use them, pay all my subs on time. I do not beat up people on price, but I will shop them.

I have seen a recurring theme here about how bad GC's/Builders tend to treat electricians. It is because you want them too....

Here is the way it is.....you are treated the way you let yourself be treated. Do not do work for anyone looking for some ridiculous low price. If they don't pay you, SUE THEM. Have their license yanked. To many people are wimps when it comes to collecting. Accept the fact you will always be underbid by a jackleg. Also realize there will be times you will get the job anyway because there is still some percentage of the population that wants a quality job. Also know that with the current economy, there are way to many people competing for work. If you can't make it anymore, go to work for someone else. Or change professions. Only lower your rates if you are running the risk of not eating tonight. Guess what, GC's/ Builders pay careful attention to this. I now have a backup HVAC company because they will do the work for half of what my usual one does. The quality is 85% of my usual guy. Run the numbers. Depending on the circumstances, 85% is acceptable. However, the lower priced guy complains in his circles of not making any money....wonder why?????