whats wrong with my ups

Status
Not open for further replies.

tonyou812

I have a APC 1500 va ups in my home for my computer and stuff and lately i noticed that small fan on it is running more than usual. Also there is a smell simillar to rotten eggs eminating from it. I have unplugged it and removed the batteries. Im assuming that the batteries are at the end of their cycle. Am i correct?

tonyou812

ron said:
How long have you had those batteries? Usually they need to be replaced every 3-5 years.
I got it used from a bank job but I would say its around that. Ive been using it for about 2 1/2 years and Im sure the bank had it for a few.

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
tonyou812 said:
I got it used from a bank job but I would say its around that. Ive been using it for about 2 1/2 years and Im sure the bank had it for a few.

Get rid of it.. Time for a new one. When the ups goes down it's time to buy new. :D

mxslick

Dennis Alwon said:
Get rid of it.. Time for a new one. When the ups goes down it's time to buy new. :D

Not so fast. APC has excellent tech support, and will arrange for disposal of the old batteries.

go to http://www.apc.com

I have had very good experiences with their products.

They also have a program to upgrade an older UPS regardless of brand.

Contact them first..new batteries are cheap compared to a new UPS.

Besoeker

tonyou812 said:
I'm with mxslick on this.
Look into replacement batteries first.
Do you know what the autonomy of your UPS is? i.e. how long will it support the load in the absence of a mains supply?
If you're just using it to clean up the supply, maybe you could get by with a lower Ah capacity battery than currently installed.

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
mxslick said:
Not so fast. APC has excellent tech support, and will arrange for disposal of the old batteries.

go to http://www.apc.com

I have had very good experiences with their products.