Whole house surge protector. Can it be on a subpanel?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lgmagone

Last year, I hired a contractor to install an air conditioning system in our house. The electrician didn't want to put the 30a / 240v system on a subpanel because he thought it might overload the subpanel. The main circuit breaker panel is full. I suggested that he move the whole house surge to the subpanel, but he didn't think that would work either. Eventually, I suggested he disconnect the electrical connection for the dryer outlet (our house has an option for both gas and/or electric. We are using gas instead of electric).

My question is, if a future owner wants to use electric, would the whole house surge protector still provide whole house protection if located on a subpanel? I have done some Googling but haven't found a good answer. This would be good to know in case a future owner wanted to switch to electric dryer in the future.

NOTE: I'm a Professional Engineer, not a licensed electrician. I am not asking "how to" on this post. Rather, I'm asking, "is it appropriate to hire an electrician to do this task for me". The last licensed electrician didn't know, and I would like to know for sure for future reference.

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
Last year, I hired a contractor to install an air conditioning system in our house. The electrician didn't want to put the 30a / 240v system on a subpanel because he thought it might overload the subpanel. The main circuit breaker panel is full. I suggested that he move the whole house surge to the subpanel, but he didn't think that would work either. Eventually, I suggested he disconnect the electrical connection for the dryer outlet (our house has an option for both gas and/or electric. We are using gas instead of electric).