Why would you need a hand off auto, and a stop start?

Learn the NEC with Mike Holt now!

zappy

I am kind of new with industrial motor controls. Why would you need a hand off auto and also a stop start button? Thank you for your help. P.S. The bulb is out on the green light.

Attachments

• IMG_8447.jpeg
    IMG_8447.jpeg
    322.5 KB · Views: 43
  • IMG_8448.jpeg
    IMG_8448.jpeg
    242.3 KB · Views: 44

GoldDigger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired PV System Designer
For any given motor, there are a bunch of control options:
  1. One is a completely manual stop/start with no automatic control at all.
  2. Another is completely automatic control with no manual options.
  3. Or manual start/stop with the ability for the manual control to kick in later after the manual start or stop.
  4. Auto control only with the option of taking the automation out of the loop to do manual control.
The buttons used could be implementing either 1 or 3.
If your goal is option 3, you can either use an auto/manual switch plus pushbuttons or a switch for on/off; or you can combine both choices in an Auto/Hand(on)/Off switch. The single switch makes it more difficult to "jog" the controlled motor than the option with buttons.

I am assuming that the green light in the photo is actually a lighted push button that doubles as a status indicator.

GoldDigger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired PV System Designer
Wouldn't the 'start/stop' be what is used for manual control in the 'hand' position?
That is one way to do it.
But the same switch, with the same labeling, could actually implement Auto/Run/Stop with no buttons required.
In the OP's photo, there is no Stop button associated with the Auto/Hand/Off switch and the green light is probably just using the indicator function of a lighted push button or is just an indicator with no Start function in either case.

zappy

For any given motor, there are a bunch of control options: