Wire new construction bidding

Status
Not open for further replies.

Malywr

How much do you charge for new construction residential in NJ

I am new to bidding and would like to get base price how much it would be for basic wiring of new construction house? I just bidding for three houses and lost all of them. I know one home owners hire somebody without a license but the other two I think I were too high.
Could someone from NJ pm me or respond

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
I think you will find that different contractors have different skill sets. Some are very good at what you might think of as "basic" wiring and can get it done expeditiously and at minimum cost. others are better at more high end stuff and do that better.

If you want to compete in the down and dirty side of things, you and your people will have to be at the top of your game for that type of work.

Tcouillard

Occupation
Electrician
How much do you charge for new construction residential in NJ

I am new to bidding and would like to get base price how much it would be for basic wiring of new construction house? I just bidding for three houses and lost all of them. I know one home owners hire somebody without a license but the other two I think I were too high.
Could someone from NJ pm me or respond
I’m from NH we are charging $8.00 a square foot for new construction

LarryFine

Master Electrician Electric Contractor Richmond VA
Occupation
Electrical Contractor
I
I’m from NH we are charging $8.00 a square foot for new construction
I don't understand how to price by the area. There are so many variables, from bare code minimum to full-on custom. Then there's low-voltage systems, landscape lighting, detached buildings, a well, etc.

Even in the cheapest homes, I do a room-by-room imaginary walk-through with the customer, then make plans I can work from. Only then can I make a materials list and calculate labor based on time.

PaulMmn

Occupation
EIT - Engineer in Training, Lafayette College