wire size: load vs OCPD

Status
Not open for further replies.

art

Occupation
Electrical Engineer
Greetings,

Is there a reason to size my feeder to the 15 A breaker and not the 2 A load at the subpanel?

art

Occupation
Electrical Engineer
Can you point me to the right article please. I'm an engineer but, with limited NEC experience

Sent from my LM-Q610(FGN) using Tapatalk

Jraef

Moderator, OTD
Staff member
Occupation
Electrical Engineer
No NEC article necessary (although there are several addressing this), it's more just common sense.

The 2A load is fine if there is no problem. But that's not what the breaker is for. The first breaker coming off of a panel or other distribution system is called a Feeder Circuit Protective Device who's main purpose only comes to play when there IS a problem and if the conductor is sized for a 2A load but protected by a 15A feeder breaker, the conductor could / would catch on fire before that breaker trips. Fire = bad.

So you always size the breaker to protect the conductor first, the load if it can. If it can't protect the load (as might be the case in your scenario), then you can add ANOTHER breaker or fuse (called the "Branch Circuit Protective Device) for the load.

For starters, look at 240.4. Generally, a conductor needs to be protected at its ampacity. There is a "next standard size up" rule for devices 800A and under that is commonly used, 240.4(B). There are taps that can be protected above their ratings, most common are feeder taps, see 240.21.

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
I'm basically on board with Jraef. IF you load requires a specific over-current protection you need to address that, perhaps with a supplemental fuse. The breaker provides short circuit protection and over-current protection for the conductor. The "normal" minimum based on standard sizes would be a 15 amp breaker and a #14 conductor.