Wiring/Termination standard

Learn the NEC with Mike Holt now!

mehdi1351

Occupation
Electrical Engineer
Hello,
I am new to US market/industry and we are going to build a project in Texas and I am wondering to know whether there is any special codes/standard/regulation that a system integrator shall follow to manufacture/construct a PLC panel?
The PLC panel shall housed the PLC controller, motor VFDs, main power isolators etc.

tom baker

First Chief Moderator & NEC Expert
Staff member
Occupation
Master Electrician
Probably UL508A. You will need to get approved as a 508 shop. In WA if there is a control panel and it does not have UL 508 label the job stops.
There are other companies that can do control panel listing but this is an area I am not familiar with

mehdi1351

Occupation
Electrical Engineer
Probably UL508A. You will need to get approved as a 508 shop. In WA if there is a control panel and it does not have UL 508 label the job stops.
There are other companies that can do control panel listing but this is an area I am not familiar with
Yes, this is exactly the things that concerning me. I want to know whether a control panel with no medium voltage ( just a 3ph 380VAC feeding Siemens VFDs) need to be UL listed in Texas province?
I do understand the switchgears, MCCs power distribution boards etc need to comply with some regulatory like UL, but is that the case for the PLC cabinets?
Second question:
what is the difference between UL508 and NEC409.2 as industrial control panel construction perspective?

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
It is not UL508, it is UL508a that is for generic control panels. UL508 is for certain control components.

You can get listed to the UL508a standard by UL, ETL, and CSA. There may be other NRTLs that can do it but it is the same standard.

Read what the NEC says and industrial control panel is in article 409. It is the definition that UL508a uses.

It is not a difficult standard to build to.