Would this be right?

Status
Not open for further replies.

chee_dee

Hi All, Newbie here.

Love the site. My first Post.

Would I be right in doin da following?

We have to supply 6 units with 230v 50 A Single phase(Line-Neutral)

50 I(line) = 50/1.732 I(phase)
I(phase) = 28.9 Amps

Can I now put this on a three phase supply meaning Each Line wud draw 28.9x2 amps? thus equaling 57.8Amps 3? Supply?

Meaning that a 57.8 A 3 ? Supply would be sufficient for feeding 6 50 A (L-N) Units.

Thanks in advance

hardworkingstiff

chee_dee said:
Hi All, Newbie here.

I(phase) = 28.9 Amps

Can I now put this on a three phase supply meaning Each Line wud draw 28.9x2 amps? thus equaling 57.8Amps 3? Supply?

Meaning that a 57.8 A 3 ? Supply would be sufficient for feeding 6 50 A (L-N) Units.

Thanks in advance

That would be incorrect. Pretty simply, you will connect 2 loads per phase. 2x50=100 amps per phase.

You could also look at it this way.

50(amps) x 230(volts) x 6 = 69KVA.

69000/(400*1.732) = 99.6 amps per phase.

chee_dee

hardworkingstiff said:
That would be incorrect. Pretty simply, you will connect 2 loads per phase. 2x50=100 amps per phase.

You could also look at it this way.

50(amps) x 230(volts) x 6 = 69KVA.

69000/(400*1.732) = 99.6 amps per phase.

Okay, why do *sqrt(3) with da phase voltage?

if u *sqrt(3) with the Line Voltage(230) then you get the phase voltage(400). Why do u multiply it again? Or am I missing something??

Thanks for the reply :)

chee_dee

Maybe I explained my question wrong in the first post.. Actually what I want to know is about the relation between Phase Current(phase-phase) and Line Current(Phase-Neutral)

Say u have 3 Units to supply with 230v 50A Single Phase(Europian, between Line and neutral)

Can u supply these 3 units with a 400v 50A 3 phase supply or is it not that simple?

bob

chee_dee said:
I(phase) = 28.9 Amps

Thanks in advance