Yellow Pages

Status
Not open for further replies.

sparky76

I'm being recruited by the Verizon yellow pages to make the latest version of the book. I'm not sold on it being a worthwhile investment. Any opinons for or against?

barbeer

A friend of mine, an old electrician/new EC, believes whole heartedly in the pages. Every time we talk of it I tell him he is nuts spending $3000 a month to advertise, he still does it.

jimmyglen

this is an age old question and I look forward to the responses

big ads cost big money

the biggest ads here have been a flat rate guy (who charges double what we do) *not that theres anything wrong with that* ;)

I have seen and talked to tons of contractors when I was a supply house salesman - some guys have the money to do it and they just spend the money but they dont depend on it to generate a majority of their revenue.

there are some guys who do real well with it

you would need to be set up to deal with it - here we get lots of people shopping "free estimates" etc and we are set up to bid all of these jobs with full time estimator etc

satcom

barbeer said:
A friend of mine, an old electrician/new EC, believes whole heartedly in the pages. Every time we talk of it I tell him he is nuts spending $3000 a month to advertise, he still does it.

your not spending money when you run an ad in the yellow pages, your investing in the ad, to produce more income. Spending is when you buy something that does not produce a return.

growler

sparky76 said:
I'm being recruited by the Verizon yellow pages to make the latest version of the book. I'm not sold on it being a worthwhile investment. Any opinons for or against?

What type of work are you looking for? If you are set up to do a lot of service calls then you will need to advertise to get the customers.

If you are doing new construction then advertising in the yellow pages is pretty much a waste of money. Builders don't look in the yellow pages. You would need to contact them.