Reusing Bolts for Terminations

Status
Not open for further replies.
Fastenal has a technical guide discussing fasteners on their site, it can be found HERE.

On page 29, there is a discussion about reusing fasteners. As I was reading this, my mind drifted back to some of the installations I remember doing over my career in the field. I remember being taught when I was an apprentice using a pipe to extend the length of a wrench to tighten bolts.
I can only guess the damage we applied to those terminations. In our discussion about torqueing, I could not stop thinking how the wrong application of torque, type of bolt, etc...really leads to a pretty poor connection.

This is from the Fastenal Technical Guide.

"One important factor to remember; typically you will not know whether or not the fastener has been yielded. Especially in critical situations, you should never reuse a fastener unless you are certain the
fastener has never been yielded."

cadpoint

That extension just gives you leverage or Force, the torque is perpendicular, or to say a straight line off of the Bolt and not what your thinking.

Torque is the tendency of a force to rotate an object about an axis (or fulcrum Lever or pivot).

Just as a force is a push or a pull, a torque can be thought of as a twist. The symbol for torque is tTau
(Tau is the 19th letter of the Greek alphabet. In the system of Greek numerals it has a value of 300. This letter in English is pronounced , but in Modern Greek, this letter's name is pronounced Tau ....)

http://www.absoluteastronomy.com/topics/Torque

I've seen this discussion before and thought I'd answer that one (old)but didn't after I refreshed up on it, But with your application of an extension it just required less force to do the same thing... but it's about the axis not quailfied by the length of a an additional arm...

quogueelectric