sizing a transformer

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all,
Im no engineer, just an electrician in need of assistance.
Im confused on how to size a step down transformer proper.
eg.. We have 480 volt 3ph. available for primary voltage, and would like to step it down to power misc. 240 volt 1ph equip.
Our exist. primary conductors consist of (3) #4cu. and (1)#8 cu.
My question is: Do I use the primary voltage or the secondary voltage to calculate the maximum kva transformer using the existing #4 conductors present.
We are looking to install the largest transformer possible, and still utilize exist. wires....thanks for ya'lls help

yired29

Hi all,
eg.. We have 480 volt 3ph. available for primary voltage, and would like to step it down to power misc. 240 volt 1ph equip.
My question is: Do I use the primary voltage or the secondary voltage to calculate the maximum kva transformer using the existing #4 conductors present.
We are looking to install the largest transformer possible, and still utilize exist. wires....thanks for ya'lls help

IMO you would have to use the primary voltage seeing that the #4's are on the primary side.

update

update

I think im making my question read a bit more complex than I intended.
Im trying to find out what is the largest transformer I can install using the exist #4's mentioned above as the primary ckt.?...thanks

yired29

I think im making my question read a bit more complex than I intended.
Im trying to find out what is the largest transformer I can install using the exist #4's mentioned above as the primary ckt.?...thanks

FLC of a 50 KVA transformer 480v primary would be 50x1000/(480x1.73)=60 Amps.

FLC of a 75 KVA transformer 480v primary would be 75x1000/(480x1.73)=90 Amps

#4 @ 75 C = 85 amps. Assuming 75 degree terms. I would stick with a 50 KVA transformer.

Someone correct me if I missed something.

This is all figured at 3 phase.

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer