Code violation to speak code?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lunalilo

You guys probably don't know this but I work at Home Depot part time, and despite by "above average" knowledge in electrical, and above average experience being an apprentice, I am being told time and time again that I should not tell people code. I have a few problems with this statement:

1) Because they tell me to tell the customer "how to wire things up", and various other things like "A GFCI goes in wet places". If I am allowed this much "code things" than why not others that I know?

2) If I know someone if wiring it wrong or installing the wrong thing, and I know this, I should tell them right? I mean, it's like a person about to fall in a hole covered with leaves(that they wouldn't mind knowing about) and I know it's there.

I need your guys opinion about this matter, should I go with the flow, or just suck it up and pout, and watch them install something incorrectly and against code?

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
I'm sure they are acting on advice of their leagl team and, as much as it might hurt, as their employee follow their rules.
Conjecture on my part would be that if you give any advice it may open a window for litigation.
Without actually seeing the install, advice you thought was in order, might end up being incorrect.
"The guy at _____ told me 2/0 was the right size".
"sometimes it is" :)

Plus they will swear thats the way "you" instructed... even though what they heard is not what you said.

Jim W in Tampa

You guys probably don't know this but I work at Home Depot part time, and despite by "above average" knowledge in electrical, and above average experience being an apprentice, I am being told time and time again that I should not tell people code. I have a few problems with this statement: