ughhhh wallplates

Status
Not open for further replies.

Split Bolt

Now since we've forund the plates...

How many of you, when you install the cover plate screws, have the slots in the screws oriented in the same direction? The crusty old electrician I learned from made me have them running vertically...he said it was the "mark of a Master electrician"....and I still do it today.

I now ALWAYS leave the slot vertical. Funny story: I used to ALWAYS leave them horizontal. Back in '99, I closed my business down to go work for a friend. (mostly because I was about to go through a huge, nasty divorce battle!) Anyway, I was the new guy, but also the new top guy since I was a master electrician and all. The rest of the guys resented that and when I was helping one of the mechanics trim-out a house, he noticed that I left all of my screws horizontal. He told me that EVERYONE in the company leaves the slots vertical. I looked at him and told him that I do it this way to speed-up troubleshooting. He asked how that could possibly speed-up troubleshooting. I told him that if the slots are horizontal, that means I did it and the problem is NOT there! That didn't go over too well!:D

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
To me, Midi has always stood for Musical Instrument Digital Interface.

A mid-size plate, I'd call...

a mid-size plate.:D

That's fine but some manufacturers use the term midi. Do a search on midi wallplates and you will see. P&S calls it a junior jumbo- to each his own. :)

wireguru

How many of you, when you install the cover plate screws, have the slots in the screws oriented in the same direction? The crusty old electrician I learned from made me have them running vertically...he said it was the "mark of a Master electrician"....and I still do it today.

i leave them random so it looks like someone else put them on and i dont get bothered with a callback for anything later :grin:

kwired

Electron manager