direct burial cable penetrations

Status
Not open for further replies.

D Wood

Hello all, newbie here:grin:

I cannot come to a definitive answer using the NEC to find out the following question. And I did try to search for old posts but I must say that I suck at googling things.

When a direct burial cable is run outdoors and comes to a building to which it has to penetrate to continue on to the control board inside the building - how far can that db cable legally run indoors before it must be "converted" to a standard cable type?

I have 50' stuck in my head but am having a bugger of a time finding it in my '08 book.

Any assistance is greatly appreciated and thanks in advance.

Dave

D Wood

If that's an acronym; please advise. If you mean use as in I want to use the db cable and need to know how far in the building I can penetrate, yes this is what I am after.

iwire

Staff member
If that's an acronym; please advise. If you mean use as in I want to use the db cable and need to know how far in the building I can penetrate, yes this is what I am after.

We cannot give an answer without knowing the cable type.

It is not enough to say it is 'DB'.

If it is type 'USE' it cannot enter the building at all.

If it is say Type 'USE / RHW' it can be run as far as you want inside a raceway.

jumper

USE=Underground Service Entrance. Regular USE cannot enter a building, 338.12(B)1; however, dual rated USE/RHH/RHW may.

Here is a link:
http://www.southwire.com/products/RHHRHWUSEOEM.htm

Can you clarify your db cable and what your app is?

Where you penetrate the building may decide the length and disconnect location.

( As usual, I am one step and 5 minutes behind Bob)

Last edited:

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician
In general the only places the code uses the 50' permission to extend a outdoor or directly buried cable into the building is in Chapters 7 and 8.