a/c breaker sizing

Status
Not open for further replies.
im a 3rd yr elect apprentice. my neighbor is having a/c trouble.

problem: in the middle of summer when the ac has been running for about 8 hrs the breaker(main panel) for the condensing unit trips..

specs: 2,000 square ft house with 4 ton rheem split system.

cond. nameplate: minimum circuit ampacity-29amp
minimum fuse or breaker size-35amp
maximum fuse or breaker size-50amp

wire size from the cond. to disconnect-8awg
wire size from disconnect to main panel-10awg
30amp breaker in main panel for cond.

he said it only started tripping within the last yr, unit has been in for 10 yrs.

Im wondering why the electricians installed a 30 amp breaker, when the cond calls for 35amp br minimum.

Would a 40amp breaker be more appropriate????:roll:

Jraef

Moderator, OTD
Staff member
Occupation
Electrical Engineer
Would a 40amp breaker be more appropriate????
Not without changing the conductors. That's probably why they used a 30A breaker. If I had to guess, I'd say there was a smaller A/C unit in there before, someone changed it out with a larger unit but got cheap on the installation and didn't want to pay for having new conductors run to the disconnect. That 30A circuit is too small for that A/C unit, I'd do the entire run in 8AWG and use a 40A CB.

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician
Jeff,
The code permits the use of #10 with a 50 amp breaker for this application. This is just like a motor circuit where the breaker only provides short circuit and ground fault protection. The overload protection of the supply conductors is provided in the AC unit itself.

iwire

Staff member
cond. nameplate: minimum circuit ampacity-29amp
minimum fuse or breaker size-35amp
maximum fuse or breaker size-50amp:

I would first take a couple of amp readings to see that it is not more than what it should be.

If that looked OK I would put a 50 amp breaker in and call it a day.