Using DC voltage to operate a VFD

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello all,
This is my first time here. I am now registered. I have a question. Can you operate a AC 75HP Variable Frequency Drive by using a DC input voltage? What I am trying to say is can you input DC voltage on the DC bus on an AC variable frequency drive to get an AC output voltage to operate a AC motor. What I am trying to do is operate a 60HP 208-230 volt 3 phase motor using DC voltage from lead acid batteries. I am involved in an experimental project of building a completely electric powered trolley used to transport people in the City of Norwich, CT., and to be donated to the city. I am part of the Rotary International here in Norwich CT. My gut feeling is yes you can do this cause most VFD's have a DC output bus. So I figured with no AC Input voltage to create the DC output voltage on the DC bus, you could input DC voltage on the DC bus.
Also if this is possible, my estimates is that an approximate DC input voltage should be around 300 - 330VDC.

gar

Occupation
EE
110306-1749 EST

electrified_cc:

Almost certainly the answer is yes. But there are many considerations.

You used the term VFD. This may not be the kind of system you want. You need to look at the speed, torque, and acceleration factors of both the load (vehicle -- bus) and the motor. Quite possibly what might be described as a brushless DC motor would be preferable to get better low RPM torque. A brushless DC motor system is a variable frequency system, and is essentially an AC synchronous motor with other items added. It has many similar characteristics to a DC permanent magnetic motor system. You also want a regenerative system.