120-277V 4 lamp T5 ballast

Status
Not open for further replies.

Davebones

Have ballast that was wired to a 120V circuit . I was told that it won't work now on a 277V circuit . Another electrician said that once you wire it on one voltage that's it . Don't usually mess with lighting so I'm not sure . Is this true ???

Barndog

Have ballast that was wired to a 120V circuit . I was told that it won't work now on a 277V circuit . Another electrician said that once you wire it on one voltage that's it . Don't usually mess with lighting so I'm not sure . Is this true ???

As long as its a Dual voltage ballst it should work on both voltages. I know the one's we use here do. But i have heard that those will not work on 208 just either 120 or 277 but dont know that for sure.

TNBaer

I've been installing T5 for 6 years and I've never heard of this.

hurk27

Most ballast today are rated 120-277 which means they are voltage regulator controlled and will work any where in between and can be changed later to another voltage, but I have ran into a few 120/277 dual voltage ballast that once powered up on one voltage it blows open the internal feed to the other voltage, and can no longer be used on the other voltage, I haven't installed any dual voltage ballast lately so I have no idea if this is still holds true?

The difference is how they write the voltage - is all voltage between and / is either one or the other voltage (dual voltage)

Last edited:

kwired

Electron manager
Most ballast today are rated 120-277 which means they are voltage regulator controlled and will work any where in between and can be changed later to another voltage, but I have ran into a few 120/277 dual voltage ballast that once powered up on one voltage it blows open the internal feed to the other voltage, and can no longer be used on the other voltage, I haven't installed any dual voltage ballast lately so I have no idea if this is still holds true?