Burning Wirenut

Status
Not open for further replies.

PEDRO ESCOVILLA

edward, i disagree, i worked in the electrical trade for years and did lots of service work. often we'd go out to do a "lighting repair" lights don't work for what ever reason, pull apart a j-box, wire nuts are loose, .ac (reverses direction) wire nuts will vibrate, you and i can't see, but it happens. i've had lengthy discussion about twisting wires before wire nutting or not twisting, if you twist the wire, wire nut can come loose, but you don't loose connection, you don't know there is a proble. if you don't twist the wires, if the wire nut come s loose, the wire (may) separate and you see a problem (you lose power somewhere. all sorts of weird things happen. never count out that "it" can't happen to you or on your job or in your work.

Joethemechanic

Occupation
Electro-Mechanical Technician. Industrial machinery
Somebody send me one of those AFCI things and I'll test it for series arc protection. I'll rig up a couple of carbon electrodes with an adjustment to control the gap and put them it in series with some kind of load. Even if i have to put them in a fish bowl and pull a vacuum on it to get a nice series arc going.

I'd do it just for the heck of it, but I'm not investing money in one of those useless things.

K8MHZ

Michigan. It's a beautiful peninsula, I've looked
Occupation
Electrician
Somebody send me one of those AFCI things and I'll test it for series arc protection. I'll rig up a couple of carbon electrodes with an adjustment to control the gap and put them it in series with some kind of load. Even if i have to put them in a fish bowl and pull a vacuum on it to get a nice series arc going.

I'd do it just for the heck of it, but I'm not investing money in one of those useless things.