Slow employees

Status
Not open for further replies.

Benton

Use people where they are strong.... Everyone is different and effective in there own way. If they are reliable, learn to be patient, and help them grow to the type of employee you would like.

cowboyjwc

Staff member
One of the funniest lines I ever heard was from an older electrician, "I have two speeds and if you don't like this one, you're gonna hate the other one.":lol:

K8MHZ

Michigan. It's a beautiful peninsula, I've looked
Occupation
Electrician
One of the funniest lines I ever heard was from an older electrician, "I have two speeds and if you don't like this one, you're gonna hate the other one.":lol:

The first time I ever heard that was from a young journeyman. I was an apprentice at the time and we were digging a trench in a GM plant. An engineer started in on my journeyman about how long it was taking and that is what he told the engineer.

FWIW, we just got there and after a full day of doing our stuff we stopped at the GM plant to help, and that was optional. We could have put down our shovels and went home and it wouldn't have been any skin off our noses.

I laughed my butt off.

K8MHZ

Michigan. It's a beautiful peninsula, I've looked
Occupation
Electrician
I have not noticed there is all that much correlation between the speed of the work and the quality of the work (or lack thereof).

I sure have. To the point of serious injury. I'm talking blood all over and teeth missing. The sad part is that the blood and teeth didn't belong to the 'rocket', it belonged to an apprentice working under him.

iwire

Staff member
You're entitled to your opinion..................more BS coming at you..........what is slow?

You want to make this like it is rocket science and it is not, if you work with a group of people you will know which ones are slow. Now my preferred method is try to play to their strengths, have them do what they are good at.