Reverse Polarity Bootleg Ground Testing

Status
Not open for further replies.

hillbilly1

Occupation
Owner/electrical contractor
Yes, re-modes are where I find them. I'm a musician and sound engineer, so I get into a lot of churches and bars where the wiring is very old and has been "upgraded" many time to accomodate newer sound and lighting systems that require a lot of power. Sometimes these upgrades are nothing more than an extension cord poked through a hole in the wall to reach another room. And sometimes they look safe, so my guitar player may be getting a big shock when I KNOW his amp is properly grounded because I did the maintenance myself. My 18 year old boy just found that his airconditioner outlet in his bedroom has been a Reverse Polarity Bootleg Ground for at least 30 years, and I've lived in the house 25 years. It tests as OK with a 3-light tester, but beeps using a VoltAlert. The entire chassis of the air-conditioner beeps like crazy when you get anywhere near it with a non-contact tester. Of course, on hardwood floor there's littel chance of contacting anything grounded, but that doesn't make it safe. If I had a guitar amp plugged into the other properly grounded outlet in the room and reached over the adjust the air-co with my free hand, that would be a big shock, I'm sure.

I believe the reason that many of you have never seen an RPBG outlet is that there's no easy way to test for them. Gear with a grounded plug seems to operate just fine when plugged into one, until you touch the chassis while touching something else grounded. Then you KNOW something is wrong. Here's a pic of 3-light testers in a Properly Grounded Outlet, a Correct Polarity Bootleg Grounded Outlet (CPBG) and a Reverse Polarity Booleg Grounded Outlet (RPBG). The lights all say the outlets are correctly wired, when we know they're not.