Can you share the ground wire?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Maven85

I am designing two light poles that are 480V 1Phase and was going to run two different home runs back to panel with 2#4's, 1#8G, in 1-1/4" conduit each (i understand that this conduit could work in 3/4" but hey have 1-1/4"c. to utilize)

now i'm considering running one home run for both light poles with 4#4's, 1#8G, in 1-1/4" conduit.

Do i need to add a second ground? if not do i need to upsize the ground wire? I thought you could share the ground but it would need to be upsized to match the #4's?

Thank you!
Jonathan

Sierrasparky

Occupation
Electrician ,contractor
I don't understand , What is a electrical designer? ( your profile)

I will answer if the moderators allow.

Maven85

I don't understand , What is a electrical designer? ( your profile)

I will answer if the moderators allow.

I work for a engineering firm but i'm not a PE I'm an electrical designer that puts together construction documents a PE would review for approval.

Thanks for responding :)

iwire

Staff member
Check this out

250.122 Size of Equipment Grounding Conductors.

(B) Increased in Size.
Where ungrounded conductors are increased in size, equipment grounding conductors, where installed, shall be increased in size proportionately according to the circular mil area of the ungrounded conductors.

jrohe

Occupation
Professional Engineer
I am designing two light poles that are 480V 1Phase and was going to run two different home runs back to panel with 2#4's, 1#8G, in 1-1/4" conduit each (i understand that this conduit could work in 3/4" but hey have 1-1/4"c. to utilize)

now i'm considering running one home run for both light poles with 4#4's, 1#8G, in 1-1/4" conduit.

Do i need to add a second ground? if not do i need to upsize the ground wire? I thought you could share the ground but it would need to be upsized to match the #4's?

Thank you!
Jonathan